Symptoms of broken heart

I´m working on a knitwear collection and my theme is love. Therefor I have spent the afternoon researching the phenomenon that is this mysterious feeling. To me the word love has lost all meaning, I am not a believer. However I do appreciate the idea of love, it´s a beautiful utopia. Perfect in theory, non-existant in reality. (Call me bitter if you will, that is my theory and I´m sticking to it.)
I´ve been reading famous love letters by great writers, (Wow, that Keats must have gotten laid ALOT!) and I must admit I´ve gotten a bit swept away in a romantic haze this afternoon. How can you not be by words like:

I cannot exist without you - I am forgetful of every thing but seeing you again - my life seems to stop there - I see no further. You have absorbed me.

I have a sensation at the present moment as though I were dissolving ...I have been astonished that men could die martyrs for religion - I have shuddered at it - I shudder no more - I could be
martyred for my religion - love is my religion - I could die for that - I could die for you. My creed is love and you are its only tenet - you have ravished me away by a power I cannot resist.

-John Keats

I´m telling you, A LOT!

Of course you cannot do research on love without studying the broken heart. When I googled broken heart I actually found the following list on wikipedia:
Symptoms of a broken heart:

▪    A perceived tightness of the chest, similar to an anxiety attack

▪    Stomachache and/or loss of appetite

▪    Partial or complete insomnia

▪    Anger

▪    Shock

▪    Nostalgia

▪    Apathy (loss of interest)

▪    Anhedonia (inability to feel pleasure)

▪    Feelings of loneliness

▪    Feelings of hopelessness and despair

▪    Loss of self-respect and/or self-esteem

▪    Medical or psychological illness (for example depression)

▪    Suicidal thoughts (in extreme cases)

▪    Nausea

▪    Fatigue

▪    The thousand-yard stare

▪    Constant or frequent crying

▪    Takotsubo cardiomyopathy

▪    A feeling of complete emptiness

▪    In extreme cases, death


Kommentarer
Postat av: kam jey

loss of appetite is a good one!

2011-03-22 @ 20:47:27
URL: http://www.kamjey.com
Postat av: Sara

I LOVE your new blog girl! And I love Keats, great poem! I did not believe in love or falling in love anymore either, until it happend! Love the style on the mens jacket! xoxo

2011-03-23 @ 12:22:13
URL: http://frokenjohnson.blogspot.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0